Sun Subscriber Website Login



</head> Gause teacher wins economic award
Please wait....
News Story
Updated: 06/13/2013 06:43:51PM

Gause teacher wins economic award

Share this story:

Nicole Radivilov


Pictured from left is Gene Engle, director on the Board for the Florida Council on Economic Education, Melissa Konkol, Gause Academy teacher, John Small, senior director of Workforce Education at Polk County Public Schools, Tamara Opalek, Lewis Anna Woodbury Elementary teacher, Linda Mobley, Bethune Academy teacher; Stephanie Jen , Lake Alfred-Addair Middle teacher; Brittany Sampson, Lakeland Senior High teacher; and Geoffrey Simon, chairman of the Board of the Florida Council on Economic Education.

Christine Roslow

Text Size:

Melissa Konkol, a teacher at Gause Academy, won second place in the Out-of-the-Box division from the Florida Council on Economic Education. This award is given to educators who introduce economic concepts in non-traditional and creative ways or in subjects other than social studies or math.

She earned second place for the victory.

Union students named
top by Duke University

Union Academy seventh-graders Grady Daniels, Sarah Emery, Maria Galindo, Justin Tavares and Jennifer Trejo were among Polk County students as part of the organization’s Seventh Grade Talent Search. Students from across the country are invited to take the SAT or ACT alongside high school students.

The students who perform best on the college exams are recognized at a State Recognition Ceremony or a Grand Recognition Ceremony and are provided with innovative programs to support their development and help them reach their educational potential.

To see the scores needed to qualify at the grand or state level visit

Bartow High IB student named National Merit Scholarship winner

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has named Nicole Radivilov, a student at the International Baccalaureate School at Bartow High School, a $2,500 Merit Scholarship winner.

She was chosen from a pool of more than 15,000 outstanding finalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship program.

“We are proud to count her among the exceptional students who attend our program. She’s an extremely talented and outstanding student,” IB Principal Edwin Vetter said.

Christine Roslow can be reached at

Reader Comments (0)

Previous Page | Next Page

Submit your comment below:


* = Required information

Comments that include profanity, personal attacks, or antisocial behavior such as "spamming", "trolling", or any other inappropriate material will be removed from the site. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our terms of use. You are fully responsible for the content you post. All comments must comply with the Terms and Conditions of this site and by submitting comments you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.